Boston Girl

the boston girl

The Boston Girl is narrated by Addie, a grandmother telling her granddaughter about growing up in the 20’s – Establishing herself as a professional, a woman, a human, at a time when the world and women’s place in it was changing drastically.

I loved everything about this book. Partly because I consider myself a feminist. Partly because its a great story. Partly because some of the themes the narrator highlights – growing up and “finding yourself” in your 20’s – are so universal.

Pulling all the quotes I marked out of this book could (and probably will) inspire multiple blog posts. But I think of all the quotes I marked, my favorite quote from the book is this:

“She didn’t apologize for being chosen. I don’t mean that she bragged. She just know who she was, which wasn’t easy back then. I guess it’s still not easy, is it?” (27)

Addie uses this passage to describe one of her friends, a great artist who was given the honor of being allowed to work on complex works as a student. This is the kind of confidence that is rare. And admirable. And makes you want to learn from someone.

It’s so hard to know who you are.

In fact at any given point in time, I think there are at least 6 different versions of me… The daughter my parents see. The sister my brothers see. The crazy weird scatterbrain my roommates see. The vulnerable insecure basket case that my best friends see. The flirty young lady that a cute guy sees. The smart, hardworking woman that my coworkers see. And shades and nuance to all of these.

That’s not to say that I have multiple personality disorder. Or that I am intentionally presenting different images of myself to different people.

These are all genuine facets of my personality.

There must be a thread that is uniquely mine that runs through all these particularities of my personality. But to tease out exactly what that is; if you asked me to sum up who I am…. well. it’s not easy.

Leave a Reply

