Let Life Fill in the Details

“Know what you want. It doesn’t have to be detailed. Just pick three goals, three things that you want to see yourself doing a year from now. Work towards those and let life fill in the details.”

I find that a lot of time, my best advice to myself comes through giving advice to other people. Its incredible how looking at your own life can seem so complicated but giving advice to someone else allows you to take a step back. You can objectively read a situation and figure out how you would like  to respond to it.

Of course its never actually that easy when its your own life. Emotions and stress, and worry, and anxiety all get in the way. Its so much easier to be wise and discerning when its someone else’s life. 

Don’t get me wrong, I wholeheartedly believe in what I’m telling you. And I will always tell people to take what I say with a grain of salt. But it is often through the process of giving advice that I best understand what my personal philosophies and values are. And then understand how often I fail to live up to them.

I don’t mean to be hypocritical. I’m not intentionally failing to live up to my own advice. Its just that its much much harder to practice than it is to preach.

Still, I’m thankful for people asking my opinion. And for bearing with me when I give it without being asked. I find the areas in which I would most like to improve myself through having these conversations with you. Thank you.

Last night I had a conversation about goals. And the importance of knowing what you want. In our 20’s we have our entire professional lives ahead of us. And up until now, our whole life has had a road map. Good grades, volunteer, extracurricular activities, sports, “good” college; “good” job…. now what? We are (*knock on wood*) only a quarter of the way through life. There is so much ahead of us, and we control our own destiny.

But choices we make now will determine what the future will look like. Its daunting. How on earth can I be expected to make decisions about the rest of my life?? 

And do you know what advice I gave, “Know what you want. It doesn’t have to be detailed. Just pick three goals, three things that you want to see yourself doing a year from now. Work towards those and let life fill in the details.”

For anyone who knows me. This is COMICAL. I am the most over-planning, self-doubting, anxiety-ridden, what-if infested person. I’m constantly thinking about eight different tragic worst case scenarios and  about 36 things I could have done differently in the past.

But what if I took my own advice here? I would be so much more relaxed. Know what you want in general and let life fill in the details. And there is such a beautiful element of faith in this. Just start in a direction and trust that things will work out. I’ll get there, or I won’t, but I’ll be headed in a direction that makes me happy and open to whatever details life throws at me.

Leave a Reply

