Rules to Live By: Part 2

As of today I have been a member of the adult world for exactly six weeks. On one hand, I can’t believe its already been that long. On the other, I’m astonished that’s it. As much as I love Notre Dame and it will always be a part of who I am, I feel very far away from being a college student lately.

If you’ve been following this blog over the last couple months, you may remember that I had the opportunity to would at an amazing YMCA program this summer. During this program we had four rules:

Be Safe, Be Kind, Stay Smart, Have Fun.

Today I was at a leadership development meeting at work, and I got to thinking about these four rules. While I think that they are, and will always be applicable to my life personally, I started thinking about how they could be adapted to apply to professional life. Here’s what I came up with:

Stay Smart: The real world can be a tough place. Stay smart, keep your wits about you, keep learning, and don’t forget that you do have things to contribute. You’re a smart cookie! Use it!

Stay Hungry: (Not necessarily for food) Right now I’m a young, naieve, ambitious college grad. I believe I can do better. I believe I can change the world. I believe I can be amazing. And I am willing to work hard to get there. I don’t ever want to lose that hunger and drive to keep getting better.

Stay Curious: Right now I know nothing but how much I don’t know. And I’m excited to learn. And ask questions! To be successful in the professional world stay curious, keep learning, and never stop asking what’s next, what’s new.

Stay Connected: I know its kind of cliched, but your network is so important. Not only professionally, but personally too. If you can connect with the people you are working with the day is SO much more enjoyable. And you learn so much. Plus the connections that I have to my family and friends from college are what makes me smile no matter what.

So those are my new grown up life rules. (**which are totally subject to change)

Stay Smart, Stay Hungry, Stay Curious, Stay Connected.

Leave a Reply

