Universal Truths of Friendship and Adulting

Traveling on my first ever business trip this week, real life has flown at me a lot faster than expected. Its been overwhelming and fun, and I’ve been learning a lot. Lucky for me, one of my best friends from college is living in the city that I’m visiting for work. I was able to see her last night for drinks and dim sum. It was SO good to see someone I’ve missed so much and be totally weird together.

Screenshot_2015-08-27-14-23-10

Awkward snapchat photo of me enjoying dim sum: taken by my friend

What follows are some “Universal Truths” about adulthood and friendship that I’ve derived from bumbling through my first business trip:

True friendship: “He could have a rug for a face, but if he treated you well I would be like… ABSO-fruit-ly.”

Fact: All adults crave tater tots 24/7.

Help I need an adult…. wait. crap. WE are the adults someone needs now.

Friendship is when you can have an entire conversation based on odd sounds, strange faces, and amateur contortions.

BRUNCH. Brunch is a thing. A magical, magical, wonderful thing.

People who seem like they have it together are most likely faking it.

Just because you CAN doesn’t mean you SHOULD. Unless its ice cream. Then you definitely should.

Moving your body makes you happier.

Your mom misses you more than you miss your dog.

Some secrets are ACTUALLY secret. Most aren’t. But its REALLY important to know the difference.

Getting ready in 15 minutes is an important skill to have… but make sure you look in the mirror before you leave the house.

Boredom and confusion can be a truly bonding experience.

Don’t freak out. But if you do its OK too. That’s why friends are there.

Leave a Reply

