Shout out to Table 7

On my first day of my real adult career (today for those keeping track), I wore a kelly green dress. I realized as I got off the train (well, really as soon as I left my apartment) that I was surrounded by dozens of very professional, very serious, very adult looking people all in hues of black, white or grey. The adventurous were wearing navy or tan.

“Crap.” I thought, “My zaney green dress sticks out.”

20150819_072137

The requisite first day mirror selfie to send to mom

At this point, I had two choices. Stand out as the uncomfortable looking girl in the green dress, or stand out as the confident, outgoing girl in the green dress. I tried to choose option 2.

I arrived at orientation and was given a name tag and assigned to a table. I spent the day at table 7 (this is the shout out I promised), awkwardly at first but more fun as the day wore on.

New hire orientation is a lot like the first day of school. Everyone wants to belong. Everyone is checking each other out, sizing each other up, trying to determine who our new friends will be.  Honestly, I was intimidated as I sat down at my table. Those at my table looked much more sophisticated and adult than I felt.

But soon we were talking and laughing together. I talked probably too much (sorry). But hopefully my nervous chatter made those at my table feel more at ease. Maybe tomorrow I will come armed with a mental list of questions get to know what everyone else is about.

Truthfully, I couldn’t have asked for a better first day. In a lot of ways, my first day of work reminded me a lot of my first day at Notre Dame. I’m not entirely sure what the future will bring, but I’m happy (although tired), I’m excited, and I’m sure that I made the right choice.

Right now, this is where I belong.

Leave a Reply

